10/29/02

heaven's gate

right now i have no internet at home so i stopped by the school lab. when i came home this afternoon after being on a much delayed train ride from ottawa, i met elizabeth in my apartment as she was checking up on the animals. she told me how yesterday the transistor which supplies power to my neighborhood blew and so most of the area was without power and water for 12 hrs. the superintendants didn't supply any sort of emergency lighting or procedures so everyone was left on their own to either find their way up in the dark or go somewhere else. for some reason now my cable is messed up too. and the elevators. it is all very Y2K like. the elevators no longer allow any button to be in the off position so they are in a constant journey from the top to the bottom of the building, stopping at every floor along the way. i wonder if they will break soon, they do not sound very healthy. so anyway as it takes a good 20-30+ minutes now to get to the 20th floor by elevator i have been taking the stairs. it sucks! i would not have believed myself capable of the climb up, but i tried it out of desperation and i was winded at the end but still standing, and i had carried two boxes of rabbit food with me too. at least there are lights, i would have been so pissed if i came home yesterday and had to grope my way up 20 flights of stairs in pitch dark with a heavy load. also today i saw a guy on a bike get hit by a car. i hope my internet is better soon. at school i learned about electricity. the TA galen suggested that we think of it as "a little thing moving through the wires" . we got mercury switches in our kits which are neat, and also pretty. i should like to poison myself with this thing. the paper i have to write got postponed a week so that is a little pleasure. I realize i do hardly any work. mike's friends accuse him of being a slackerly genius but compared to me he is a workaholic. but i suppose it is also a matter of how much work one must do to get by.. in my case its such a pitiful amount. i do only have two classes. this new watch i got is such a piece of poop, it is full of water from washing my hands and the dial is all fogged.ok i'm going now. bye internet.

<--navigate-->
archive profile guestbook diaryland
member of the norwalk diaryring
weather for toronto
Donate Weapons of Mass Destruction