09/04/00

my first day in Toronto

I did not actually have an online diary yet, so I am going to copy onto here what I wrote in my old fashioned notebook:

...welcome to Toronto. I'm so hot and my skin is painful to touch. [I had a bad sunburn] I'm not scared, there's no water, no window. I had to tell myself something. the phone will be set up on thursday. I'm still so hot and my skin is burning. everyone plays a guitar here. oh well.nobody's arrived yet [my roomate didn't come till late that night] and everyone is normal or boring or who knows what they are [asian people who study a lot]. I start to think some more about giving people chances, but how much does it matter, anyway? so I knew it would be a let down and I don't even feel let down all the much. The sun is sinking under the skyline, it's burning, I'm burning. So who'll be my friend tomorrow, and what about tonight? So its not them I'm giving chances, it's me, I know who they are and it's me always hoping that I will be like that too.no stars, there's never any stars. tomorrow the library will be open, today, it was labor day, it was closed. I'm eaten alive. It's almost 8:30. I didin't get anything to eat tonight. my knees are red and my hands and face and socks and shirt. I know they don't care if I am around. I wonder how she deals with people like me? I can still feel the effects of an unpleasant dream. for about $100 I can go to detroit. is that home? I'm so sick of my self. I'll never be all these people that I'm not. He said his foot was asleep and they all clapped and laughed. what was so great about that? not to say I could do better, but I am always so far removed from the situation. My pillow is fluffy and soft. I know already I'm going to be just like always. Jenny said there was a girl in her class that she thought looked cool and wanted to be friends with and tried to impress her by wearing a sleater kinney shirt. thats just like something i'd do but jenny admits it and i probably wouldnt. I wonder why I wouldn't.

"I'll escape from reality
Too many years I've travelled through
Till in my eyes I always see
And my ears will listen too
Off again to somewhere new
Close the door of your new room.."
-erics trip

<--navigate-->
archive profile guestbook diaryland
member of the norwalk diaryring
weather for toronto
Donate Weapons of Mass Destruction